THE ADVENTURE HAS COME TO AN END Pt. 2

I have finally made some time to remind myself that the Australia adventure has in fact come to an end. Being in school, having a job and an internship, and attempting to have a social life is making it far more difficult than necessary to post on this blog, however, there is only one post left after this one until I wrap up NemanjaInPerth.

For this post, we shall tackle another series of questions I have been asked in regard to my time abroad and what it is like to be home. Let’s get started!

  • What stereotypes did you have about your study abroad destination?
    • Prior to going to Australia, I had a whole bunch of preconceived notions about what the weather was going to be like. Australia is in the souther hemisphere, meaning the seasons are opposite to ours here in the northern hemisphere. So, when I landed in Perth back in February, they were in the middle of a four day, 100 degree heat wave, seeing as it was the middle of their summer. Having the beach a bus ride away from campus was a blessing, but not having AC in the residence hall was a curse. However, my last month there was by far the coldest and rainiest month. I knew that once winter hit in June, the temperature would drop, however, I did not expect to have to sleep with multiple blankets and the heater on. Because of this little misunderstanding, I did not bring very many winter clothing with me, and therefore, heavily relied on a the few pairs of long pants I did have. Tip: if you go to Australia, DO NOT be cocky and think you understand the weather there. More so, really look into what the weather is like in different parts of Australia because traveling around Melbourne and Sydney in shorts and a t-shirt was not conducive for good health.
  • Did traveling/studying abroad make you think any differently about your identity or your place in the world? What did you learn about yourself?
    • I do believe that my identity has evolved because I studied abroad. I am far more independent now compared to before I left. However, this has its benefits and repercussions. One main benefit is that I am not nervous or frightened when it comes to taking on large adventures on my one. Fun fact, I am currently planning a study abroad adventure to Finland during the Summer of 2017. However, because of this new found sense of independence, I find that I am not talking to my family as much as I used to, simply because I am not as reliant on their assistance as before. I constantly find myself saying, “text your mom, Nemanja.” Other than evolving, my identity has also grown. Since coming back from Australia, I find myself allowing myself to relax and be a little more casual in my approach to many tasks. I blame Australia’s laid-back culture to be the cause for this! More so, I meditate and do yoga more often and have become a vegetarian since coming back. The vegetarian portion of my identity has been shaped by my dear friend Anne who identifies as a vegan and has convincing reasons as to why. More so, the cost of meat in Australia was so expensive that I slowly found my self cutting it out for economic reasons. Now, even though I can afford to buy meat, I don’t find it appropriate to do so, knowing the suffering that went into the meat that I am about to consume.
  • What does “reverse culture shock” mean to you?
    • When I arrived in Australia, I did not know what to think, how to feel, or what to do. The first morning I woke up in Australia, I cried for about 20 minutes and had such immense feelings of regret for deciding to pursue this path. When I went grocery shopping the first time, I wanted to cry even more. The prices didn’t make sense, nothing was where it belonged, the aisles were so confusing, and the one time I asked for help the associate responded with, “Are you an American?” I felt uncomfortable, ashamed, and in response to these negative emotions I started to build a facade of, “I am fine. No, really, I am fine. I am having fun.” This period lasted for about a week, although I never really liked going grocery shopping in Perth. This feel I was having was culture shock, and as I mentioned, it did not last forever. I eventually became acclimated to my new lifestyle and grew to love it. Coming back to the US, Arizona, and Flagstaff specifically, some could say I have a sense of “re-entry shock.” I find that now I am here, I am not living as fun and extravagant of a life as I could be. Everything in Australia was new, amazing, and an adventure. Whereas here everything is normal and routine. I find myself not wanting to go to class simply because it is going to be the same old, same old. However, I am pushing through it and growing to like my routine. Although, having another trip abroad is definitely giving me something to look forward to.
  • Do you think of America any differently now that you have returned?
    • I do not believe that I think of America any differently, if anything, I am more appreciative of what America has to offer. I missed my way of life and all the that I had available to me here. Many people say that with our luxurious lifestyle in America we knowingly commit individuals in various countries to slave away on our behalf. Is this okay? No. Do I want to commit my life to changing this problem? Yes. However, it did not take studying abroad to help me realize this.

Look out of for the third, and final installment of my adventure closing, coming soon!

Leave a comment